eat mangoes naked

the patience, pleasure and pure silliness of life with a baby and a toddler

The Family Bed

Leave a comment

The family bed is a defining part of the attachment method of parenting- along with baby wearing and breast feeding on demand. It’s the hippy theory and although a few 50-some moms breastfeeding their preschoolers preach this theory, it has also become common among the younger and more mainstream moms (well at least in Boulder!). It clashes a bit with our individualist society, but is a common practice in most latin american and african countries. Before Noa was born, I read about it and I have to admit it appealed to my inner hippy. After he was born, we fell right into co-sleeping for the pure sweetness of it. We were attached! Once again we have fallen into the lure of attachment parenting- this time more out of necessity than a moral calling. Almost all of Christian’s family came for Felipe’s birth and the crib came down to make room for the air mattress. Noa joined us in bed so he wouldn’t feel left out and the arrangement has stuck. We have been putting Noa to bed late so he can play with Christian a little when he gets home from the restaurant. We are all so exhausted by this point that we have been crashing together in a big heap in our bed. Felipe has been sleeping on top of my chest and Noa flops around in between us. It is not very comfortable or restful, but it is so sweet that it is hard to resist. Last night Noa cuddled up beside me and sang “hush little baby” to Felipe while patting Christian on the head. I wouldn’t trade a moment like that for a good night’s sleep!

A late bedtime has taken a large toll on my rest and as a result my sanity is often questionable. This could also be the result of brestfeeding. I’m not sure how scientific the theory, but my brain hasn’t been quite up to speed since giving birth. I remember this with Noa as well- losing my keys, repeating myself and forgetting the baby (just kidding!). The babies are just about the only thing I don’t forget these days. More than once, I got out of the shower and couldn’t remember if I washed my hair! The good thing about a late bedtime is that Noa sleeps in until about 8 in the morning, which gives me a couple hours to get ready and give Felipe some undivided attention. A little cooing and cuddling is not a bad way to start the day. Sleepy but happy.

Leave a Reply

